Cartoons: A Mix This Month

Over the past seven years, I have published monthly cartoons on various aspects of policy and practice, school reform, etc. This month, the cartoons are a mix of ones that tickled me over the year. Yeah, I know, these choices tilt toward life in a digital world. So be it. Enjoy!

Cd9FvN-XEAAOMij

 

parents-kids Groupon

 

back-to-to-school-cartoon-twitter1

 

tumblr_ndenjzYUwu1qav5oho1_1280

 

7b0a30c2b401a93955d5b9000670eb12

 

vintage-social-networking-na7bdj

 

online-teaching

 

blended_cartoon

 

7e5f48da3cb13431d4a9cb4ded0556bc

 

100927_cartoon_040_a15101_p465

 

images-1

 

2706

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Cartoons: A Mix This Month

  1. Laura H. Chapman

    For a long time I included selections like these in conference presentations. Then my national association required (a) copyright permissions for any conference presentations, and (b) my agreement to allow the organization to record the session and make it available for professional development via the web. I have not made a presentation in this conference area since that set of requirements. Just wondering if you have encountered similar conditions, and how you address the copyright issue in sharing these delightful images.

    • larrycuban

      Laura,
      Over the seven years, my monthly blog feature of cartoons has received three comments from viewers that I have not followed the existing copyright law. In each instance, I replied that I take no ads for my blog, receive no compensation for doing a blog, and I show cartoon once and make sure that the author’s name is visible. One of the three commenters replied and said my reasons did not meet copyright restrictions. In making talks and writing books, however, for which I get paid, whenever I have used cartoons or photos in either a presentation or book, I request permission and pay the fee, if there is one.

  2. Laura H. Chapman

    Thanks for this reply. The rules of thumb on noncommercial use are helpful. I recently requested permission to quote some copyrighted national standards. The permission form was a doozy, really anxious about any criticism of the standards.

Leave a Reply

