Fifth Anniversary of Blog

Dear Readers,

This post marks my fifth anniversary as a blogger. I want to thank those readers who regularly read my twice-weekly posts, those who have dipped into them occasionally, those who have subscribed to the post, and finally those—over 6500–who have taken the time to write comments.  The blog has had nearly 850,000 views from around the world (40 percent outside of the U.S) since August 2009. Not exactly viral but, for me, most gratifying.

For the 597 posts I have written in the past five years, I have followed three rules:

1. Write less than 800 words.

2. Write clearly on school reform and classroom practice.

3. Take a position and back it up with evidence.

Anyone who blogs or writes often knows that sticking to these rules is no easy task. Occasionally, I have slipped and alert readers have reminded me of these rules.  Yet after four years, writing two posts a week–with help from guests (teachers, administrators, non-educators, family, and academics)–has been very satisfying. I remain highly motivated to write about what happens to policy as it gets translated into practice and those unrelenting efforts of reformers with varied ideas inside and outside the schools who have sought improved schooling.

Five posts have caught the most clicks since beginning the blog:

“Data-Driven Instruction and the Practice of Teaching (over 24,000)

“The Difference between ‘Complicated’ and ‘Complex’ Matters (18,000)

High-Tech Gadgets: Addiction, Dependency, or Hype?” (16,000)

Cartoons on Common Core” (13,000)

Chains or Spaghetti? Metaphors of Implementation (nearly 11,000)

For the first time, a cartoon feature has entered the top five posts. Three years ago, I started a once-monthly series of cartoons on selected topics of teaching, administering, policymaking, and school reform. This year I started monthly series on poetry about teachers and students written for, about, and by students, teachers, administrators, and non-educators.

As I begin my sixth year, I am not sure where I fit into Roz Chast’s breakdown of bloggers, but poking fun at those who blog is, well, part of being a blogger. Thank you again, dear readers, for making the past five years a satisfying experience.

Larry Cuban

RozChast

31 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

31 responses to “Fifth Anniversary of Blog

  1. Congratulations, Larry Cuban. Your blogs enlighten us! From Chile, where thanks to a strong students’ movement there is an attempt to reverse the deep pro market education model created by Pinochet, and the Chicago boys in the 80’s and sustained by a centrist coalition from 1990 to date.

    • larrycuban

      Many thanks, Alfredo, for the kind words. I wish you well in your fight.

    • Thank YOU, Larry. I wish I could write as regularly and concisely as you. I always start off intending just 800 words and lo and behind I end up with twice as many. In the years I wrote a weekly column for school I was forced to comply, and say something that would be clear to both parents and teachers, and sometimes kids in less than 500 words! I did it. But alas…it’s been hard to keep it up without the need to stay under. . What a pleasure to read your columns–they do it. . Keep it up.

  2. Doug Johnson

    Hi Larry,

    I probably forward your posts to others in my district more than those of any other blogger. I hope you have many more years of sharing your thoughts and ideas ahead.

    Doug

  3. Congratulations on a big milestone for a great resource!

  4. Congratulations on your milestone! I’m so proud to be the writing daughter of this prolific, inspiring, and super-smart Dad! Love, GW Jr.

    • larrycuban

      I have not forgotten, Janice, that you are the one who bugged me in that difficult year of 2009 to become a blogger and helped me work through the WordPress template. Thank you.

  5. Congratulations and keep up the good work.

  6. Congratulations! I’ve enjoyed reading and sharing your posts. I’ve used different posts several times to back up a point or illustrate a situation. Thank you!

  7. Ann Staley

    Congratulations, Larry. As a late-comer to your blog, I haven’t yet participated much, but I’ll be reading and commenting from here on out.

  8. Sandy

    Congratulations. You are my go-to mini-MOOC! It’s a privilege to have access to your substantial observations and experiences. I send your blogs to my colleagues in my school division more than any other blogger. Thank you.

  9. Thanks, Larry, for sharing your personal insights, gleaned from so many decades in education. Reading your blog helps me put my teaching experiences and thoughts into perspective.

    As a new entrant to the profession, the enormity of the dilemmas pervading the profession and field continue to overwhelm me. On my good days, I hope to help carry the flame forward shining a bright light on what transpires in our classrooms, schools, and districts in hopes of improving the outcomes of our great, public education system. On bad days, I long for the good days.🙂

    • larrycuban

      I did fail to thank you for your kind comments, Dave.I appreciated what you had to say. Everyone has bad days and longing for good ones is exactly what I did in high schools and at Stanford. Thanks, Dave.

  10. Jennafer Carson

    Thank you, Professor Cuban, for staying grounded in the complex yet inspiring worlds of educational policy and leadership. I always appreciate your deep respect of teachers and empathy towards administrators and policy-makers. Please continue to share your opinions and your wisdom.
    Best,
    Jennafer Carson (POLS Class 2009, M-A teacher)

  11. JMK

    Hey, Larry, congratulations! I’m with Deb–in awe of your consistency.

    Thanks so much for encouraging me to write for your blog. It’s always a privilege.

    Here’s looking to the next five years.

    • larrycuban

      Thanks, Michele, for the kind words. I appreciate them very much. I enjoy reading your posts about teaching, policies you questions, and the diversity of students that you teach. Keep on writing!

  12. Briel

    Bravo! It is a wonderful (and thought-provoking) connection to you. I read every post and often my husband and I discuss what you bring up (when we want to talk about work when at home). I have also shared many posts with friends and colleagues. I’m so grateful that you are willing to work to share with us. Cheering from up north.

  13. Thank you so much for your blog, Larry. You always seem to know what I need to read, shake my head & ponder. The mix of postings provide me, and the faculty and students in the Faculty of Education @ Simon Fraser University with much needed perspective. Happy Anniversary, Larry!

    • larrycuban

      Many thanks, Linda, for your kind and generous words. We have a mutual friend in Selma who is, in my opinion, a treasure for both education and Canada.

Leave a Reply

